The films of Harmony Korine.

download

With films like Gummo, Julien Donkey-Boy and Mister Lonely Harmony Korine is the long lost son of Werner Herzog and Jean-Luc Godard. His films are blowing the doors down on what cinema is to the cult film watcher. i hope you enjoy this podcast as much as  enjoyed watching the films again.

About motionpicturemassacre

a film junkie, nerd, drunkard

Posted on May 24, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Vaughn,

    Really enjoyed the Harmony Korine film retrospective. I recall seeing GUMMO in the theatre the 1st time, I’d never seen anything like it, up to that point. I felt like I was peaking through windows watching things I shouldn’t see, I felt dirty, and transfixed by what I saw before me. The soundtrack was brutal, and suited the films style. I’ve since seen it again in the theatre at a midnight screening, and a few people laughed throughout the film, I agree, it’s not a comedy. It’s a peak into a small economically depressed area and the people therein. It’s fairly dark, and raw. I did not realize the film was set in ’74, I’d always assumed it was set in the 90’s and the town was just so economically depressed that it was left behind so-to-speak. I’ve seen JULIEN DONKEY BOY only once, and again, I was transfixed by the film, I’ll have to rewatch it. I skipped MISTER LONELY as it did not catch my attention during it’s theatrical run, after hearing your Korine retrospective I’ll need to give it a spin. Thanks for podcast, been enjoying them for quite a while now, particularly your Fulci episode. Keep ’em coming!
    – McBastard

  2. Harmony Korine? No. Just no.

  3. Harmony Korine? Yes. Just yes.

    I’m downloading this now, look forward to hear it – there may be some problem with your iTunes listing because I tried to get it on there and nothing happened, yet it works here….

Leave a Reply

